Total Pageviews

Thursday, 22 August 2013

Committee Nominations 2013

The nominations received for the 2013 elections to the Committee of the British Section of the Combustion Institute are: 


Jethro Ackroyd
Simone Hochgreb
Neal Morgan
Markus Kraft
Ben Anthony
Paul Fennel
Allan Hayhurst
Yannis Hardalupas
Phil Bowen
Bill Jones
Simone Hochgreb
Allan Hayhurst
Yajue Wu
Allan Hayhurst

David Smith
Simone Hochgreb

Jethro Ackroyd, University of Cambridge/cmcl Innovations
Jethro is a chartered chemical engineer. He started his graduate career in the pharmaceutical industry developing processes and commissioning plants to manufacture cancer and bird flu treatments. He held Senior Process Engineer positions at both AstraZeneca and GlaxoSmithKline before returning to university to study numerical methods for modelling turbulent reacting flows. He currently holds positions as a Principal Engineer at cmcl innovations, a multi-award winning SME, as a Senior Research Associate at the University of Cambridge and is a Fellow of Churchill College. Jethro is motivated and passionate about combustion and research, and is excited about the opportunity to play a more active role in the British Section of the Combustion Institute.

Ben Anthony, Cranfield University
Dr. Anthony is a reader in Energy at Cranfield University, and previously he was a senior research scientist with Natural Resources Canada, where he headed the Gasification and Fluidized Bed Combustion Group, which was responsible for a 1 tonne/d high pressure gasifier and 1 MWt oxy-fired Circulating Fluidized Bed (CFB) among other major facilities used to support industry. His interests include thermal energy processes that can offer pure CO2 streams for sequestration, and gasification technology, both in its high-pressure and atmospheric forms, and coal and waste combustion in FBC.  Dr. Anthony is the author of 190+ journal papers on various aspects of combustion and gasification, along with a similar number of conference papers, 13 book chapters, and he is the co-editor of the first book on Pressurized Fluidized Beds.  Dr. Anthony’s current R&D pursuits are strongly focused on calcium looping cycles, oxy-fired CFBC technology and pressurized, entrained-flow gasification.  Dr. Anthony is currently an adjunct Professor with the Chemical Engineering Department at the University of Ottawa, a guest Professor with Southeast University in Nanjing, China and a visiting Professor at Imperial College. Dr. Anthony also serves on the editorial board of the journal Fuel and on the advisory board of Greenhouse Gases: Science and Technology.

Phil Bowen, Cardiff University
Phil Bowen graduated with First Class Honours in Pure/Applied Maths and was awarded his PhD in developing perturbation and numerical methods for Newtontian and non-Newtonian swirling flow in 1990 under Prof. Ken Walters. He was then employed by Shell Research Ltd. (Thornton, 1990-94) as part of the Combustion Hazards group. In 1994 he joined Nick Syred’s thermofluids/combustion group at Cardiff, developing his research expertise in combustion and combustion-related stationary power-gen applications (e.g. coal and biomass applications) and automotive. He was appointed 'Chair in Energy Systems' at Cardiff in 2004. He was co-founder of the first national pan-Wales energy research centre (WERC), which has since developed into the Low Carbon Research Institute. He led Cardiff's successful 2005 bid for the donation of QinetiQ's high-pressure/temperature/flow gas turbine combustion facilities, which he recommissioned at an offsite centre (GTRC, Port Talbot) as part of a  £7.8M programme. He led Cardiff's successful £3.8M bid in 2007 for RCUK centre in Renewable Energy under the  Science and Innovation investment programme - Centre for Integrated Renewable Energy Generation and Supply (CIREGS, led by Prof. Nick Jenkins). He set up Cardiff's MSc in Sustainable Energy and Environment (2006). He has published approaching 200 papers, including 50 journal in the area of thermofluids, heat transfer and combustion. He is a former Chair of the IOP Combustion Physics Group (2009-12), and is member of the EU Biofuels Technology Platform (2007-) Steering Committee , IEC International Standards Management Committee for Explosive Area Classification (2007-), UKELG and the Institute of non-Newtonian Fluid Mechanics Board. He presented the 2011 EU Combustion Meeting (ECM) keynote address, and various others. He has advised government on Energy policy, innovation and manufacturing, and has undertaken consultancy for a wide range of multi-nationals. He is currently Director of the Cardiff School of Engineering, Cardiff University.

Yajue Wu, University of Sheffield
Yajue’s first degrees (B,Sc. and M.Sc.) are from Tsinghua University in Beijing. Her Ph.D. is from Sheffield University, where she is a University Lecturer in the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering. In addition, she has worked at Edinburgh University. Her current research interests include: energy systems based on hydrogen; the rapid spread of fire through buildings, tunnels, etc; the dynamics of fires and explosions; combustion and heat transfer in industrial furnaces; hazard analysis. In the past, she has served the British Section as its Secretary and would be happy to help again as a member of the Committee.

No comments:

Post a Comment