Total Pageviews

Thursday, 9 December 2010

Nominations for the Hinshelwood Award

The deadline for nominations for the 2010 Hinshelwood Award is 31 December, 2010. The rules for the award are detailed in the CIBS website. Nominations and attached documentation should be sent to the Secretary (Prof Simone Hochgreb).
The prize commemorates Cyril Norman Hinshelwood OM PRS (1897-1967), who shared the Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 1956 for his work on the combustion of hydrogen.

Excerpt from the CIBS website:
The Hinshelwood Prize for Combustion recognises meritorious work, in any branch of combustion, by a younger member of The British Section of the Combustion Institute. One aim of this annual prize is to encourage young people, not as yet well-established researchers, but who work in any area or aspect of combustion.  Preference will be given to candidates under the age of 35 years on the deadline for nominations. Written nominations, which may be submitted by anyone who knows the work of the nominee, must be received by the Secretary of the British Section no later than December 31 in each year. Nominations should include the curriculum vitae and list of publications of the nominee and also a brief account (no more than two pages of A4) of that person’s achievements. The award shall be of a certificate and a sum of £300.

No comments:

Post a Comment